ABEM Leadership

The Board of Directors of the American Board of Emergency Medicine consists of experienced, clinically active, board certified emergency physicians, and a public member. Nominations to the board are accepted from sponsoring organizations (ACEP, AMA, and SAEM), and the EM community-at-large.

As a nonprofit organization, ABEM only uses fees to conduct exams and carry out regular business operations. Board members serve without compensation.

The following is a current list of ABEM Board directors, officers, and executive staff.

Executive Committee

Marianne Gausche-Hill, M.D., President
Samuel M. Keim, M.D., M.S., President-Elect
Mary Nan S. Mallory, M.D., M.B.A., Immediate-Past-President
Ramon W. Johnson, M.D., M.B.A., Secretary-Treasurer
Diane L. Gorgas, M.D., Member-at-Large
James D. Thomas, M.D., Member-at-Large


Felix K. Ankel, M.D.
J. David Barry, M.D.
Michael S. Beeson, M.D., M.B.A.
Yvette Calderon, M.D., M.S.
Wallace A. Carter, M.D.
Carl R. Chudnofsky, M.D.
Hala Durrah, M.T.A.
Kim M. Feldhaus, M.D.
Theodore J. Gaeta, D.O., M.P.H.
Deepi G. Goyal, M.D.
John L. Kendall, M.D.
Lewis S. Nelson, M.D.
Suzanne R. White, M.D., M.B.A.

Executive Staff

Earl J. Reisdorff, M.D., Executive Director
Melissa A. Barton, M.D., Director of Medical Affairs
Kathleen C. Ruff, M.B.A., Chief Administrative Officer

Associate Executive Directors

Timothy J. Dalton, Evaluation and Research
Jennifer L. Kurzynowski, Operations
Angela J. McGoff, Certification Services
Michele C. Miller, Systems and Technology